Nominations are open for the 2025 Sustainable Transport Award

140 days ago

2 minutes

Source: ITDP

ITDP and the Sustainable Transport Award Committee are inviting you to nominate your city for the 2025 STA, which will also mark the 20th anniversary of the programme. Nominations are open until April 5, 2024.

Is your city or region making noteworthy advancements in transportation, street design, or policy changes aimed at enhancing mobility and the overall well-being of its residents? The Sustainable Transport Award (STA) offers a distinctive global acknowledgement, evaluated by a panel of international experts in sustainable transport and development, to highlight the often overlooked progress happening at the grassroots level.

ITDP and the STA Committee invite you to nominate your city for the 2025 Award. Nominations will be accepted until April 5, 2024, and applications can be accessed at staward.org. Anyone with knowledge of city initiatives and project details can submit a nomination. If your city is shortlisted for the second round, further information will be requested.

Since 2005, the Sustainable Transport Award has honoured bold leadership and vision in sustainable transportation and urban liveability. These initiatives aim to improve mobility for all residents, curtail transportation-related greenhouse gas and air pollutant emissions, and improve safety and accessibility for cyclists and pedestrians. Nominations are encouraged from all interested parties, including government bodies, civil society organizations, and academic institutions. Nominations must include verifiable project data and city contact information.

Cities of varying sizes around the globe have been recognized by the committee for their exemplary practices in sustainable transport. A comprehensive list of previous winning cities, along with details of their achievements, is available here. Past winners include:

  • Jakarta, Indonesia
  • Fortaleza, Brazil
  • Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
  • Santiago, Chile
  • Yichang, China
  • Mexico City, México
  • San Francisco, United States
  • Ahmedabad, India
  • Bogotá, Colombia
  • Paris, France

The 2024 Sustainable Transport Award was presented to Tianjin, China, for its initiatives to promote sustainable mobility through the expansion of non-motorized transport (NMT) infrastructure, emphasizing cycling, walking, and public spaces. Tianjin was accompanied by one STA honourable mention — the City of Peshawar, Pakistan — acknowledged for its endeavours to transition its bus fleet to cleaner, more efficient vehicles.

To further showcase and delve into the success stories of these winning cities, ITDP and the STA Team will host the Sustainable Transport Award Series 2024, a webinar series throughout the year exploring the elements and policies that led to these cities’ recognition by the STA.


View all posts

Campaign success

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.

Member profile

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.